+

Filing Fees (Court Costs)

All fees reported on these pages are current as of June 21, 2012.  Please contact the Circuit Clerk's office directly with any questions on filing fees.

JACQUELINE ANDERSON-SMITH
JEFFERSON COUNTY COURTHOUSE, ROOM 400
BIRMINGHAM, ALABAMA 35203
(205) 325-5355

Filing Fees for Jefferson County Circuit Court, Civil Division

CIRCUIT CIVIL DIVISION FILING FEES
Act No. 2012-525
EFFECTIVE 6/21/2012

FILING FEES

One Plaintiff, One Defendant up to $50,000.00 $251.00
One Plaintiff, One Defendant over $50,000.00 or unspecified amount $351.00
Pro Ami $251.00
Verified Complaint $251.00
Most Appeals, such as Driver’s License, Tax and Unemployment $251.00
Foreign Judgments, Arbitration Awards, Quiet Titles, Modify Petitions, Injunction, Complaint to Interplead $251.00
Petitions $251.00
TRO - Temporary Restraining Order $251.00
Application for Abandon Motor Vehicle Hearing $251.00
Appeal/Transfer/Removal From Probate to Circuit $251.00
Additional Defendant $10.00 - Additional Plaintiff $100.00 ( Up to $1,000) -
Additional Defendant served by Certified Mail (Atty supplies Postage) -
Defendant served by Sheriff in Jefferson County $10.00
Defendant served by Out-of County Sheriff -
Defendant served by Process Server -
Jury Demand $100.00
Appeals (Court of Civil Appeals, Supreme Court) $200.00

Subpoenas

Cost of Subpoena $12.00
Service by Sheriff in Jefferson County $10.00
Service by Out-of County Sheriff -
Service by Process Server -
Service by Certified Mail (Atty supplies Postage) -

Execution

Cost of Execution $30.00
Service by Sheriff in Jefferson County $10.00
Service by Out-of County Sheriff -
Service by Process Server -
Service by CerService by Certified Mail (Atty supplies Postage) -

Garnishment

Cost of Garnishment $30.00
Service by Sheriff in Jefferson County $10.00
Service by Out-of County Sheriff -
Service by Process Server -
Service by Certified Mail (Atty supplies Postage -

Workman’s Compensation

Walkthrough Workman’s Compensation $199.00
If workman’s compensation is retaliatory, up to $5,000.00 $251.00
If workman’s compensation is retaliatory, over $5,000.00 $351.00

Additional Fees for Existing Cases

Alias Summons - same service fees apply
Counterclaim, Cross Claim, Add Count (over $50,000), Third Party Motion/Complaint (includes Deft), Motion/Complaint for Intervenor, Action for Declaratory Judgment. Cost for additional Intervenor applies the same as multiple plaintiffs. $297.00
Motion for Judgment on Pleadings, Motion for Summary Judgment, Motion for Default Judgment or Application for Default Judgment $50.00
Writ of Seizure + $10.00 for service $30.00
Conditional Judgment + $10.00 for service in Jefferson County $10.00
PFR1 (to reinstate driver’s license) $10.00
Certificate of Exemplification or Triple Seal, Acts of Congress $15.00
Certificate of Judgment $10.00
Publication (Checks made payable to Alabama Messenger) $75.00
Quiet Title (Checks made payable to Alabama Messenger) $220.00
Notary Verification (per document) $5.00

No charge for Motion to Reinstate
No charge for Motion to Compel
No charge for Consent Judgment
No charge to file an answer
Lis Pendens - No Charge - File stamp and take to Probate Court to record, $5.00 to certify

CERTIFIED MAIL - When requesting service wherein the address provided is a post office box, or is out of state, the papers may be served by certified mail. You should prepare an envelope, green card, and green and white sticker. Be sure that the Clerk's address is the return address, to-wit: CIRCUIT CLERK, 716 RICHARD ARRINGTON JR. BLVD.,ROOM 400, BIRMINGHAM, ALABAMA 35203

NOTICE PERTAINING TO JEFFERSON COUNTY SHERIFF'S FEES

ACT # 2003-289

There will be an additional ten dollar ($10.00) fee charged on every document submitted to the Jefferson County Sheriff's Department for service. This will pertain to all complaints, subpoenas, garnishments, executions, etc. served by the Jefferson County Sheriff's Department only. The fee does not affect documents served out of county, by certified mail or special process server.

PLEASE CHECK ADDRESS FOR IN-COUNTY OR OUT-OF-COUNTY PARTY!

Filing Fees for Jefferson County District Court, Civil Division

DISTRICT CIVIL DIVISION FILING FEES
ACT # 2015-224
EFFECTIVE 8/1/2015

FILING FEES FOR NEW CASES
(You must have exact change)

(SM) Small Claims, One Defendant (up to $1,500.00) $66.00
(SM) Small Claims, One Defendant ($1,500.01 to $3,000.00) $140.00
(SM) Small Claims, One Defendant ($3,000.01 to $6,000.00) $229.00
(DV) Large Claims, One Defendant ($6,000.01 to $10,000.00) $261.00
Unlawful Detainer $261.00
Service by Sheriff $10.00
Each additional Plaintiff (up to $500.00 maximum) $50.00
Each additional Defendant for service by Constable or Sheriff $10.00
Certified mail to a business (plus $0.22 for each oz.) $6.74
Certified mail to an individual (plus $0.22 for each oz.) $11.89

GARNISHMENTS AND EXECUTIONS

Garnishments (additional $10.00 if served by Sheriff) $30.00
Garnishment Publications (Payable to Alabama Messenger) $25.00
Executions in Jefferson County $40.00
Executions outside Jefferson County $30.00

ADDITIONAL FEES FOR EXISTING CASES

Amended Summons and Complaint (Additional $10.00 if served by Sheriff) $10.00
Certificates of Judgments per Defendant $10.00
Citations (Additional $10.00 if served by Sheriff) $10.00
Copies 1 - 20 pages; Each additional page $0.50 $5.00
Default Judgments for Unlawful Detainers and Claims over $3,000.00 $50.00
Exemplifications $15.00
Order for Contempt (additional $10.00 for service by Sheriff) $30.00
Petition to Cite Defendant for contempt of court (this must be served by sheriff. $10.00 for petition and $10.00 for sheriff) $20.00
PFR-1 $10.00
Post judgment discovery by Sheriff in Jefferson County, NC by constable, NC if out of county $10.00
Subpoenas (additional $10.00 for service by Sheriff) $12.00
Summons and complaint publications (payable to Alabama messenger) $100.00
Third Party Complaint (Additional $10.00 if served by Sheriff) $10.00
Writ of possession (per defendant) - set out $10.00

APPEALS TO CIRCUIT CIVIL COURT

Trial without a Jury (Includes $100 Cash Bond) $351.00
Trial with a Jury (Includes $100.00 Cash Bond) $451.00

AFFIDAVIT OF HARDSHIP ON NEW FILINGS MUST BE APPROVED BY A DISTRICT JUDGE.

AFFIDAVID OF HARDSHIP ON APPEALS TO CIRCUIT COURT MUST BE APPROVED BY A CIRCUIT JUDGE.

NOTICE PERTAINING TO JEFFERSON COUNTY SHERIFF'S FEES

ACT #2003-289

There will be a ten dollar ($10.00) fee charged on every document submitted to the Jefferson County Sheriff's Department for service. This will pertain to all complaints, subpoenas, garnishments, executions, etc. served by the Jefferson County Sheriff's Department, only. The fee does not affect documents served out of county, by certified mail, constables or special process servers.

Filing Fees for Jefferson County, Domestic Relations Division

DOMESTIC RELATIONS DIVISION FILING FEES
UPDATED 06/21/2012

There is no longer a $10.00 fee for certified mail. Attorneys are required to have postage affixed to the envelope when requesting service by certified mail. For pro se parties, your document will be weighed and you will be given the amount due at the time of filing.

FILING FEES

Complaint $199.00
Modifications / Rule Nisi and Enforcements $302.00
Petition to Enroll Foreign Judgments $302.00
Counter-Petition for Modification / Rule Nisi $302.00
Petition for Writ of Habeas Corpus $302.00
Appeal Cost (Make check payable to Court of Civil Appeals) $200.00
Security for Cost (Deposit) $150.00
Subpoenas $12.00
Process of Garnishment $30.00
Execution $30.00
Motion for Default Judgment $50.00
Attachments $30.00
Request for Service of Income Withholding Order $10.00
Affidavit of Service for Income Withholding Order $28.00
Publications (Make checks payable to Alabama Messenger) $65.00
Affidavit to Terminate Income Withholding Order $28.00
Sheriff Service (Jefferson County) $10.00